Autopsien des Alltäglichen
Montag, 31. August 2009
Size problems
Not only that I purchased undies sized XL (normally I wear size L) and they don't fit due to "Made in China", I also face some problems with shrinking clothes.

So when you come over here, one thing is that clothes are tailored to fit small people. Even if it looks odd for you, take 2 sizes bigger than you are used to back in Europe. Otherwise you will be facing a nice, tight fit. And this is not really comfortable when it comes to undies.

The next thing is that most clothes are made to be washed at 30 degrees centigrade. Now over here, as stated before, the water supply is stored in a tank on top of the house. Washing machines also take their supply from there. Now even that you put the selector to 30 degrees for washing cotton shirts, trousers or undies, the water delivered to the machine will arrive at some 40 plus degrees. And I haven't found one machine over here to cool down the water first. With the knowledge of this you can expect all your sensitive clothes to start shrinking. Maybe an additional fact is that you gain weight as well. But besides that, the only choice you have is to wash by hand then. With bucket water that you gave the opportunity to cool down throughout the day.

So don't be surprised if during summer time you seem to be growing out of your clothes. It is not always calories.

... comment

 
I have the opposite problem; I shrinkle in every summer and my clothes growing wider and wider....but in winter it turns. I like this, I have the whole weather in my body.

... link  


... comment
 
Sounds lovely! I could be eating all day and attribute it all to the deplorable shrinking process of my clothing.

I admit: upon moving in I once tried to handle the washing machine in our house and sadly failed, ended up with loads of dripping, wet, soapy clothes. No way of getting them rinsed. Ever since, I delegated the task to our maid. Although it always irritates me when I come home and find my underwear nicely lined up with pins for drying on the string. At least he (our maid) only uses my private bathroom for that, not the common room I share with my flatmates.

... link  


... comment